Uncategorized

Crochet Squares Blocking Tool

As I’ve said time and time again… I love to crochet! There I said it again!

With that said, I have always been trying to come up with a novel solution for blocking crochet squares. I’ve used knitting looms and they work great for a couple sizes but not for all and you can only block a couple at a time. I was in search of something sturdy that would stand the test of time and it was nowhere to be found online or in retail stores. In fact the majority of online techniques included tedious pinning to a blocking board, steaming and waiting for it to dry. When you have 67 squares to block, before you can seam together a simple baby blanket it seems like an eternity.

What I came up with was a home improvement store improvisation. Below you’ll find a list of all you need to complete my DIY Blocking Tool, that I think will hold up.

All you need is

2 16 in. x 16 in. Black Plastic Pegboard) , 4 1/4 inch metal rods measuring 24″8 1/4 inch washers8 1/4 inch nuts Electrical tapeUse the electrical tape to coat the rods so your squares aren’t snagged when loaded on.

I secured the rods to the base using a wrench, washers next to the peg board and nuts fastened tightly next to them. Load the squares you would like to block and spray with a mist of water. Finally place the second peg board equally spaced on the rods and let the squares dry naturally!

Vicky Brehm – Cera Boutique 2015

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

